C.J. Hooker Middle School contact information

William Rolon
Principal Grades 6-8

41 Lincoln Ave.
Goshen, NY 10924
(845) 615-6300

C.J. Hooker Middle School Banner
Central School District

Student Resources

Math

Sixth Grade Math Sites

  1. AAA Math http://www.aaaknow.com/grade6.htm

  2. Cool Math http://cte.jhu.edu/techacademy/web/2000/heal/mathsites.htm

  3. I4C Math http://www.internet4classrooms.com/skills_6th_math.htm

  4. Fun Brain http://www.funbrain.com/

  5. Kidsites http://www.kidsites.com/sites-edu/math.htm

  6. Cool Math http://www.coolmath.com/

  7. Quia www.quia.com/pop/29764.html

  8. Gamequarium www.gamequarium.com/metricsystem.html

  9. Measurements http://www.bgfl.org/bgfl/custom/resources_ftp/client_ftp/ks2/maths/measures/index.htm

  10. Measuring a line http://www.freewebtown.com/weddell/mw/ruler/ruler_cm.swf

  11. Interactive Math http://www.kidskonnect.com/subject-index/17-math/292-math-sites.html

  12. BBC Schools http://www.bbc.co.uk/schools/ks2bitesize/maths/activities/measures.shtml

The Metric System

  1. Math Play Ground http://www.mathplayground.com/howto_Metric.html

  2. Metric http://www.gpschools.org/ci/ce/elem/interact/math/metric.htm

  3. AAA Math http://www.aaamath.com/grade5.html#topic150

  4. Fun Brain http://www.funbrain.com/measure/

  5. Gamequrium http://www.gamequarium.com/metricsystem.html

  6. Metric Measures http://www.nist.gov/public_affairs/kids/metric.htm

  7. Fun Metric Games http://www.mathgames4children.com/Games/metric_system/Metric%20System/index.html

Seventh Grade Math Sites

  1. AAA Math http://www.aaaknow.com/grade7.htm

  2. I4C Math http://www.internet4classrooms.com/skills_7th_math.htm

  3. Math Sites http://www.kidskonnect.com/subject-index/17-math/292-math-sites.html

  4. Interactive Math http://www.learnalberta.ca/content/mejhm/index.html?launch=true

  5. Fun Brain http://www.funbrain.com/

Eighth Grade Math Sites

  1. AAA Math http://www.aaaknow.com/grade8.htm

  2. I4C Math http://www.internet4classrooms.com/skills_8th_math.htm

  3. Math Sites http://faculty.usiouxfalls.edu/arpeterson/math_sites.htm

  4. Interactive Math http://www.learnalberta.ca/content/mejhm/index.html?launch=true

  5. Fun Brain http://www.funbrain.com/

Social Studies

Sixth Grade Social Studies

  1. Internet 4 Classrooms http://www.internet4classrooms.com/6thSocSt.htm

  2. Awesome Library http://www.awesomelibrary.org/Classroom/Social_Studies/Social_Studies.html

  3. Create a Timeline http://www.readwritethink.org/materials/timeline/index.html

Mummies

  1. The Iceman http://www.mummytombs.com/main.otzi.htm

  2. The Mummy Project http://anubis4_2000.tripod.com/mummypages1/intro.htm

  3. Ancient Egypt Kids http://www.guardians.net/egypt/kids/index.htm

  4. National Geographic http://www.nationalgeographic.com/ngkids/9906/mummies/mummy_making.html

  5. King Tut http://www.kingtutone.com/mummies/

  6. Mummies Unwrapped http://library.thinkquest.org/J003409/

Geography

  1. World Atlas - Scavenger Hunt http://www.worldatlas.com/aatlas/world.htm

  2. Atlapedia Online http://www.atlapedia.com/index.html

  3. CIA World Factbook https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/index.html

  4. Geography for Kids http://www.kathimitchell.com/geog.htm

  5. About.com Geography http://geography.about.com/library/weekly/topicsub7.htm

  6. Geography http://www.surfnetkids.com/geography.htm

  7. Physical Geography http://www.physicalgeography.net/fundamentals/contents.html

Map Skills

  1. Maps and Map Skills http://www.kidinfo.com/Geography/Maps.html

  2. Think Quest http://library.thinkquest.org/J002254F/

  3. Map Skills Activity Sheets http://www.hbschool.com/mapskills/pdf_list.html

  4. ISS EarthCam http://www.earthkam.ucsd.edu/public/educators/activities/mapskills.shtml

  5. Map Skills Web Page http://hes.peachschools.org/mapskills.htm

  6. Maps http://edtech.kennesaw.edu/web/maps.html

  7. Map Games http://www.maps.com/FunFacts.aspx?nav=FF

  8. Essential Map Skills http://www.essentialskills.net/products/programs/map_globe.html

Ancient China and India

  1. History For Kids- China http://www.historyforkids.org/learn/china/

  2. History For Kids- India http://www.historyforkids.org/learn/india/

Ancient Egypt

  1. The British Museum http://www.ancientegypt.co.uk/menu.html

  2. Ancient Egypt Sites http://www.ancient-egypt.org/

  3. Life In Ancient Egypt http://www.carnegiemnh.org/exhibits/egypt/

  4. Gods & Goddesses http://www.ancientegypt.co.uk/gods/explore/main.html

  5. The Gods and Goddesses of Ancient Egypt http://www.mnsu.edu/emuseum/prehistory/egypt/religion/godslist.html

  6. Gods and Mythology http://www.touregypt.net/godsofegypt/

  7. Ancient History - BBC http://www.bbc.co.uk/history/ancient/egyptians/gods_gallery.shtml

  8. Egyptian Mythology http://www.touregypt.net/gods1.htm

  9. Royal Ontario Museum http://www.rom.on.ca/schools/egypt/learn/

  10. Gods and Goddesses http://www.neferchichi.com/godsinfo.html

  11. Name Translator http://www.eyelid.co.uk/e-name.htm

  12. Greek Myths and Legends http://atschool.eduweb.co.uk/carolrb/greek/greek1.html

Ancient Greece

  1. Ancient Greece http://www.ancientgreece.com/

  2. Greek History for Kids http://www.historyforkids.org/learn/greeks/

  3. Ancient Greece http://www.wsu.edu:8080/~dee/GREECE/GREECE.HTM

  4. Fact Monster http://www.factmonster.com

  5. BBC Schools http://www.bbc.co.uk/schools/ancientgreece/main_menu.shtml

  6. Greek Mythology http://www.mythweb.com/

  7. Greek Mythology.com http://www.greekmythology.com/

  8. Greek Myths http://www.desy.de/gna/interpedia/greek_myth/greek_myth.html

  9. Ancient Greece http://www.woodlands-junior.kent.sch.uk/Homework/Greece.html

  10. Online Games http://library.thinkquest.org/CR0210200/ancient_greece/online_activities.htm

  11. Winged Sandals http://www.wingedsandals.com/

  12. Ancient Greece http://greece.mrdonn.org/

  13. Ancient Greece.org http://ancient-greece.org/

  14. The British Museum http://www.ancientgreece.co.uk/

  15. The History Link http://www.historylink101.com/ancient_greece.htm

  16. Ancient Greece http://www.teacheroz.com/greeks.html

Ancient Rome

  1. Ancient Rome http://www.historyforkids.org/learn/romans/

  2. History Link 101 http://www.historylink101.com/ancient_rome.htm

  3. The Roman Empire http://www.roman-empire.net/

  4. BBC Romans http://www.bbc.co.uk/schools/romans/

  5. The Roman Forum http://www.mainlesson.com/display.php?author=lovell&book=stone&story=forum

  6. Ancient Rome http://www.teacheroz.com/romans.htm

  7. Ancient Rome for Kids http://www.rome.mrdonn.org/

The Fertile Crescent

  1. MR. Dowling's Mesopotamia http://www.mrdowling.com/603mesopotamia.html

  2. Wikipedia http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fertile_Crescent

  3. The Fertile Crescent http://visav.phys.uvic.ca/~babul/AstroCourses/P303/mesopotamia.html

  4. Fertile Crescent http://ancienthistory.about.com/od/babylonia/g/FertileCrescent.htm

  5. Middle East http://www.mnsu.edu/emuseum/prehistory/middle_east/index.shtml

  6. Britannica http://www.britannica.com/EBchecked/topic/205250/Fertile-Crescent

  7. Map of Ancient Fertile Crescent http://www.bible-history.com/maps/maps/map_ancient_fertile_crescent.html

Sumer

  1. Sumer http://lexicorient.com/e.o/sumer.htm

  2. MNS - Sumer http://www.mnsu.edu/emuseum/prehistory/middle_east/middle_east.html

  3. Mesopotamia http://www.mesopotamia.co.uk/

  4. The Sumerians http://www.fsmitha.com/h1/ch01.htm

  5. Mesopotamia 2 http://www.wsu.edu/~dee/MESO/MESO.HTM

  6. Maps/Mesopotamia http://www.crystalinks.com/mesopotamia.html

  7. Ancient History Sourcebook http://www.fordham.edu/halsall/ancient/asbook03.html

  8. Collapse: Mesopotamia http://www.learner.org/interactives/collapse/mesopotamia.html

  9. Ancient Sumer http://mesopotamia.mrdonn.org/sumer.html

  10. Sumerians - For Kids http://www.historyforkids.org/learn/westasia/history/sumerians.htm

  11. Contributions to Mesopotamia Civilization http://www.dl.ket.org/humanities/connections/class/ancient/mesop.htm

Babylonia

  1. Babylonia http://www.bible-history.com/babylonia/

  2. Babylonia: A History http://history-world.org/babylonia.htm

  3. Babylonia:Country http://www.livius.org/ba-bd/babylon/babylonia.html

  4. Crystal Links Babylonia http://www.crystalinks.com/babylonian.html

  5. Babylonia http://www.earth-history.com/Babylon/

Assyria

  1. Assyrians http://www.wsu.edu/~dee/MESO/ASSYRIA.HTM

  2. History of Assyria http://www.aina.org/aol/peter/brief.htm

  3. Assyria On-line http://www.aina.org/aol/

  4. Assyrian Empire http://www.goodnewsmedia.com/assyria.htm

  5. Assyria: General Intro http://www.livius.org/as-at/assyria/assyria.html

  6. Mesopotomia:Assyria http://www.mesopotamia.co.uk/

Ancient Hebrew

  1. Ancient Hebrew Culture http://www.clarion-call.org/yeshua/culture/culture.htm

  2. Hebrew Civilization http://www.publicbookshelf.com/public_html/The_Story_of_the_Greatest_Nations_and_the_Worlds_Famous_Events_Vol_1/ancienth_ja.html

  3. Ancient Hebrew http://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2010/01/100107183037.htm

  4. Mechanics of the Ancient Hebrew Culture http://www.ancient-hebrew.org/12_home.html

Persia

  1. Ancient Persian Civilization http://www.mybibletimeline.com/?gclid=CPCOmOXJ5qQCFeFN5Qod2Uu92A

  2. iSeek http://www.iseek.com/iseek/home.page

  3. Persian Contributions

  4. Ancient Persia http://www.ancientpersia.com/history/hist_f.htm

  5. Ancient Persia http://www.mnsu.edu/emuseum/cultural/oldworld/middle_east/ancientpersia.html

  6. Forgotten Empire http://www.thebritishmuseum.ac.uk/forgottenempire/

  7. Persia http://www.theancientweb.com/explore/content.aspx?content_id=22

  8. Ancient Persia http://www.ancientpersia.com/

Phoenicia

  1. Phoenicia http://phoenicia.org/toc.html

  2. Wikipedia http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Phoenicia

  3. Phoenicians http://www.phoenician.org/ancient_ships.htm

  4. Encyclopedia of the Orient http://www.i-cias.com/e.o/phoenicia.htm#peop

Tigris and Euphrates River

  1. Tigris River http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tigris

  2. Euphrates River http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Euphrates

  3. Euphrates River Homepage http://web.bryant.edu/~langlois/ecology/euphrates.htm

  4. Britannica On-line http://www.britannica.com/eb/article-9110543/Tigris-Euphrates-river-system

Renaissance

  1. La Renaissance http://www.ibiblio.org/wm/paint/glo/renaissance/

  2. Wikipedia http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Renaissance

  3. Welcome to the Renaissance Faire http://www.renfaire.com/

  4. The Renaissance http://www.teacheroz.com/renaissance.htm

  5. The Renaissance Connection http://www.renaissanceconnection.org/

Middle Ages

  1. The Life in the Middle Ages http://www.kyrene.k12.az.us/schools/brisas/sunda/ma/mahome.htm

  2. History For Kids http://www.historyforkids.org/learn/medieval/

  3. Wikipedia http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Middle_Ages

The Dark Ages and the Byzantine Empire

  1. Wikipedia http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dark_Ages

  2. History of Byzantium http://www.turizm.net/turkey/history/darkages.html

  3. The Forgotten Empire http://historymedren.about.com/cs/byzantinestudies/a/forgotten.htm

Seventh Grade Social Studies

  1. Internet 4 Classrooms http://www.internet4classrooms.com/7thSocSt.htm

  2. Awesome Library http://www.awesomelibrary.org/Classroom/Social_Studies/Social_Studies.html

  3. Create a Timeline http://www.readwritethink.org/materials/timeline/index.html

Native Americans

  1. Native Americans http://www.nativeamericans.com/

  2. Nebraska Studies http://www.nebraskastudies.org/0300/stories/0301_0110.html?

  3. Kidinfo http://www.kidinfo.com/american_history/native_americans.html

  4. Index Native Americans http://www.hanksville.org/NAresources/

  5. Lewis and Clark http://www.pbs.org/lewisandclark/native/index.html

  6. Native Americans http://library.thinkquest.org/J0110072/navigation/native_american_chart.htm

  7. American Indians http://www.42explore2.com/native.htm

  8. Native Americans Culture and History http://www.teacheroz.com/Native_Americans.htm

Exploration and Colonization

  1. The History Place Timeline http://www.historyplace.com/unitedstates/revolution/rev-early.htm

  2. Explorers http://library.thinkquest.org/C001692/english/index.php3?subject=explorers/database&type=name

  3. Exploration http://www.artifacts.org/conquest.htm

  4. Age of Exploration http://www.pkwy.k12.mo.us/southmiddle/ProjectPathways/explorers.htm

The Thirteen Colonies

  1. The Thirteen Colonies http://www.east-buc.k12.ia.us/00_01/CA/13c.htm

  2. The Thirteen Colonies http://www.rcs.k12.va.us/csjh/colonies.htm

  3. Colonial America http://americanhistory.about.com/od/colonialamerica/

  4. 13 Original Colonies http://www.timepage.org/spl/13colony.html

  5. The 13 Colonies http://www.socialstudiesforkids.com/graphics/13mapnew.htm

  6. Interactive Map http://www.mrnussbaum.com/13.htm

  7. 13 Colonies http://www.chlive.org/kkaplan/13_colonies.htm

Causes of the American Revolution

  1. History of the USA http://www.usahistory.info/American-Revolution/

  2. History Central.Com http://www.historycentral.com/Revolt/causes.html

The American Revolution

  1. Revolutionary War http://www.multied.com/revolt/

  2. Liberty http://www.pbs.org/ktca/liberty

  3. Kidport http://www.kidport.com/RefLib/UsaHistory/AmericanRevolution/AmerRevolution.htm

  4. The American Revolution http://www.theamericanrevolution.org/default.aspx

  5. The History Place http://www.historyplace.com/unitedstates/revolution/

  6. Kidinfo http://www.kidinfo.com/american_history/american_revolution.html

  7. The American Revolution http://edtech.kennesaw.edu/web/amrevol.html

  8. Harlingen http://www.harlingen.isd.tenet.edu/coakhist/amrev.html

  9. History.com http://www.history.com/topics/american-revolution

Articles of Confederation and the Critical Period

  1. Articles of Confederation http://www.barefootsworld.net/aoc1777.html

  2. Digital History http://www.digitalhistory.uh.edu/database/article_display.cfm?HHID=277

  3. US History .com http://www.u-s-history.com/pages/h362.html

US Constitution

  1. Charters of Freedom http://www.archives.gov/national-archives-experience/charters/constitution.html

  2. Annapolis http://www.law.ou.edu/hist/annapolis.html

  3. Yahooligans http://yahooligans.yahoo.com/tg/constitution.html

  4. The Living Document http://teacher.scholastic.com/researchtools/articlearchives/civics/usgovt/constit/conlivdo.htm

  5. Ben's Guide http://bensguide.gpo.gov/3-5/documents/constitution/about.html

  6. RATIFICATION OF THE CONSTITUTION http://college.hmco.com/history/readerscomp/rcah/html/ah_073800_ratification.htm

The New Government

  1. American President.Org http://www.americanpresident.org/history/GeorgeWashington/

  2. From Revolution to Reconstruction http://odur.let.rug.nl/~usa/P/gw1/

  3. The Era of Good Feeling http://www.u-s-history.com/pages/h43.html

  4. The War of 1812 http://www.historycentral.com/1812/Index.html

  5. War of 1812 http://www.gatewayno.com/history/War1812.html

The Age of Jackson

  1. The Jacksonian Era http://americanhistory.about.com/od/ageofjackson/

  2. The Native American Policy http://www.socialstudieshelp.com/Lesson_41_Notes.htm

Causes of the Civil War

  1. Southern View http://www.civilwarhome.com/confederatecauses.htm

  2. Causes of the War http://ngeorgia.com/history/why.html

  3. North Aggression http://www.civilwarhistory.com/slavetrade/causes.htm

  4. The Causes http://www.swcivilwar.com/cw_causes.html

  5. Civil War http://www.infoplease.com/ce6/history/A0857365.html

  6. The American Civil War http://www.us-civilwar.com/

  7. The Civil War http://www.teacheroz.com/civilwar.htm

  8. What Caused the War? http://americancivilwar.com/kids_zone/causes.html

The Civil War

  1. The War Between the States http://www.archaeolink.com/american_civil_war.htm

  2. Civil War.Com http://www.civilwar.com/

  3. Civil War Resources http://sunsite.utk.edu/civil-war/

  4. The Civil War Homepage http://www.civil-war.net/

  5. Abraham Lincoln http://www.americanpresident.org/history/abrahamlincoln/

  6. Yahooligans http://yahooligans.yahoo.com/Around_the_World/Countries/United_States/History/Presidency/Presidents/Lincoln__Abraham__1809_1865_/

  7. The American Civil War http://www.spartacus.schoolnet.co.uk/USAcivilwarC.htm

  8. Answers.com http://www.answers.com/topic/american-civil-war

  9. The US Civil War http://www.socialstudiesforkids.com/subjects/civilwar.htm

  10. Images of War http://www.civil-war.net/cw_images/index.htm

  11. US History - Civil War http://www.besthistorysites.net/USHistory_CivilWar.shtml

Eighth Grade Social Studies

  1. Internet 4 Classrooms http://www.internet4classrooms.com/8SocSt.htm

  2. Awesome Library http://www.awesomelibrary.org/Classroom/Social_Studies/Social_Studies.html

  3. Create a Timeline http://www.readwritethink.org/materials/timeline/index.html

Discovery and Exploration

  1. Discovers Web http://www.win.tue.nl/cs/fm/engels/discovery/

  2. 1492: An Ongoing Voyage http://www.ibiblio.org/expo/1492.exhibit/Intro.html

Colonial Period

1. Plimoth Plantation http://www.plimoth.org/
2. The Salem Witch Museum http://www.salemwitchmuseum.com/
3. Colonial America http://americanhistory.about.com/od/colonialamerica/
4. William Penn http://xroads.virginia.edu/~cap/PENN/pnhome.html

The American Revolution (1775-1783)
1. A Journey Toward Freedom http://library.thinkquest.org/10966/
2. King George III http://www.britannia.com/history/monarchs/mon55.html Creating Government

1. Articles of Confederation http://www.ruf.rice.edu/~rkw/RKW_FOLDER/Madison.pdf
2. War of 1812 http://www.multied.com/1812/
Early Republication Period

1. Lewis and Clark http://www.pbs.org/lewisandclark/
2. Mount Vernon http://www.mountvernon.org/
3. Thomas Jefferson http://www.monticello.org/
Manifest Destiny, Expansion and Slavery

1. The Oregon Trail http://www.isu.edu/~trinmich/Oregontrail.html
2. The Underground Railroad http://education.ucdavis.edu/NEW/STC/lesson/socstud/railroad/contents.htm
Civil War and Reconstruction

1. The Civil War Home Page http://www.sunsite.utk.edu/civil-war/warweb.html
2. Civil War Archive http://www.civilwararchive.com/
3. The American Civil War http://www.homepages.dsu.edu/jankej/civilwar/civilwar.htm
4. Civil War Medicine http://www.powerweb.net/bbock/war/
5 Opposing Views on Reconstruction http://odur.let.rug.nl/~usa/H/1990/ch5_p11.htm
World War I

1. Trench Warfare http://www.spartacus.schoolnet.co.uk/FWWtrench.htm
2. Articles: Life in the Trenches http://www.firstworldwar.com/features/trenchlife.htm
3. The Great War http://www.pbs.org/greatwar/
4 Wikipedia: WWI http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/World_War_I
5. World War I Archives http://www.wwi-models.org/Photos/
World War II

1. WW II Timeline http://www.worldwar-2.net/
2. The History Place http://www.historyplace.com/worldwar2/timeline/ww2time.htm
3. WW II Photos http://www.archives.gov/research/ww2/photos/
4. WW II http://www.teacheroz.com/wwii.htm
5. Yahoo http://dir.yahoo.com/Arts/Humanities/History/By_Time_Period/20th_Century/Military_History/World_War_II/
6. 42 Explore http://www.42explore2.com/worldwar2.htm

Immigration and Urbanization

1. Immigration http://www.ricocheting.com/technical_documents/Immigration.and.Urbanization.html
2. Immigration and Urbanization http://faculty.chass.ncsu.edu/kilgroe/Indus.htm
3. 1877-1914 Immigration http://www.rhs.simi.k12.ca.us/RHSLibrary/History/AmerHis/1877-1914ImmigrationUrbanization.html
Progressive Movement
1. The Progressive Movement http://www.u-s-history.com/pages/h1061.html
2. Progressive Era http://www.americaslibrary.gov/jb/progress/jb_progress_subj.html
3. Links to Glided Era http://bss.sfsu.edu/cherny/gapesites.htm
4. Wikipedia http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Progressive_Era